Men vacuuming: drying out flooded basements

There are few things that look as effeminate as a man vacuuming: the rhythmic sashay of the hips, the limp wrist holding the cord, the inevitable humming of show tunes. Even with a wet vac slurping up gallons of backed-up sewer water, I spent the better part of yesterday feeling like a housewife from the 1950s.

As the storms continue, and the record rainfall here in the Heights of Arlington nears ten inches in two days, I’ve picked up a thing or two about storm-soaked basements. My brother and I helped our dad suck up water from two of the houses he rents out in the area. The unfinished basement was an easy problem to remedy.

The sump pump broke. There was standing water of a couple inches, so we sucked that up with a wet-vac/shop-vac, dumped it a dozen times in the curb outside. Dad, with his considerable pappy smarts, replaced the sump pump with what he called “the best”, an expensive Zoeller pump. The old one had become unmoored, tipped on its side, and was useless. It’s probably a good idea to dig into your sump pit every spring and make sure that the pump is on solid ground, ideally an inch or two off the bottom, where the silt and filth collects that could clog the pump. Setting it on two bricks could work, though I’m sure there are more secure and ingenuous methods out there, though make sure the float is unfettered.Clearing debris out of the pit is recommended, as well, as is having a back up power source, especially since Com Ed services the Midwest, where power outtages are more frequent than storms. (The ferocity of recent weather patterns must leave even the staunchest delusionist wondering more than Global what?)

Not much you can do if the sewer drains back up, as was the case with the second basement, which was finished with padded carpeting. Even after we dumped two five-gallon buckets at least ten times, maybe 100 gallons, the padding underneath was still so soaked that a puddle would form in your footprint. And it smelled like piss. Nothing you can do but open the windows, blow a fan, and hire professionals or gorillas to rip out all the wet carpeting to haul upstairs and outside to the curb. It sounds like most basic homeowner’s insurance in Illinois does not cover damage due to flooding, unless the incident broke a pipe that caused the flooding.

Whatever your insurance policy, it’s small solace for keepsakes and other personal familial ephemera—the kind of stuff housed in basements—that can’t be replaced. For those, like me, with a basement office, here’s some tips on how to preserve water-logged books. I can’t imagine it would be cost-effective to submerge computer equipment in sealed drums of rice, like you can do with a wet cell phone(Ziploc bag suffices). Then there’s the weeklong-process of clearing out and starting over with plastic Rubbermaid bins.

Luckily, our house, and its sub-basement with windows at ground level, has been spared any flooding. There is no pit for a sump pump, so the foundation is sealed, and one school of thought would argue that the hole for the pit welcomes more damage than it prevents. We have sewer drains, of course, but they didn’t back up. Maybe we’re higher up. We’re definitely lucky. Now I can get on with the laundry and other domestic chores,

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Duffka on 07/24/2011 - 11:18 AM

    Vacuuming a carpet that is to be torn out…depressing!

  2. #2 by Robert Duffer on 07/24/2011 - 11:48 AM

    Depressingly futile.

  3. #3 by Jobs and Education on 10/17/2011 - 9:44 AM

    May be this blog’s best piece of writing I have read

  4. #4 by Heavy Duty Shelf on 02/05/2014 - 1:08 AM

    I agree. However I would add which to save revenue
    you could have used pine instead.

  5. #5 by Jefferey on 07/16/2014 - 2:50 PM

    Good article! We will be linking to this particularly great article on
    our website. Keep up the great writing.

  6. #6 by Plano root canal on 08/27/2014 - 4:00 AM

    Clean the brush with soapy water before each coating.

    Using damaged materials, such as cracked shingles, can be a primary cause
    of a leak right from the start. The two significant factors that one must consider when choosing a Roofing Company Atlanta is the Reliability and the Quality of service
    rendered by the professionals.

  7. #7 by espiar whatsapp de otro movil on 09/09/2014 - 8:39 PM

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different page and thought I should check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking at your web page repeatedly.

  8. #8 by Craft Organize on 09/10/2014 - 9:59 AM

    To setup everything in your arts and also crafting place I might suggest a wood thread rack.

    It does the job great.

  9. #9 by clash of clans free gems hack on 10/01/2014 - 12:47 AM

    I’m starting up a new online website directory
    and was wanting to know if I can submit your website?
    I’m hoping to grow my directory slowly by hand so that it retains top quality.
    I will make sure and put your website in the appropriate category and I’ll also use, “Men vacuuming: drying out flooded basements ” as your anchor
    text. Make sure you let me know if this is alright with you by
    emailing me at: elliemathias@bigstring.com. Cheers

  10. #10 by gang bang on 01/04/2015 - 8:24 AM

    “I don’t think there’s enough passion between us”,
    “I don’t think we are a complete match”, “I’m not feeling a click”, “I don’t think there’s enough chemistry on my side”, “We’re not sexually compatible”, “I’m not ready for a relationship”,
    “It’s not you; it’s me”, “I’d like for us to remain friends”.
    If you still doubt whether people really want money, a lot of money,
    watch that show. Women take men who are looking away when talking to them as not serious, indifference or lacking self esteem and this is bad for
    men who want to have date.

  11. #11 by facultad farmacia on 10/13/2015 - 5:33 AM

    Un contenido muy util

  1. changes to your home, home alterations, modify kitchen, bathroom remodel, remake, home refashion, redo kitchen, total home make over, regenerate your home, renew your home, kitchen restore,revitalize your home, better, improve, amend, ameliorate, meliorat
  2. anxiety test pdf
  3. buy here pay here account buyers

Leave a comment